Old (really) RVer, interested in Escape 5.0 TA with questions - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Community > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 12-14-2019, 09:48 PM   #1

Trailer: 2013 Via 25T
Old (really) RVer, interested in Escape 5.0 TA with questions

I have been RVing for 57 years, but always motorized. First was a Corvair Van conversion (1962); we sold a 42' Holiday Rambler pusher about a year ago. Interim is Winnie Via 25T. We just bought a tricked out 2019 Ford 250 Diesel 6.7 mostly to tow an 8,000# boat trailer. However, are exploring purchase of an Escape 5.0 TA.

Two questions:

1. What is the head room in the bunk area of the 5.0 TA--is this easier to get in and out of (for an 83 year old )than as a Class C?

2. I noticed in an ad for a 5.0 TA for sale, one of the purchases stated that his short bed truck could not pull that trailer. The Ford 250, has a Crew Cab, and a 6'6" bed. It is already set up with the re-inforcement and supports, plus power etc for the 5th wheel towing. I understand that putting the hitch in, is just simple bolting. Is there any reason that a Ford 250 should not be able to tow the Escape 5.0TA?

It appears as though you have not only a great forum, but some very passionate members. I am sure I will learn a lot about towing a 5er from the group.

Best regards, Thanks in advance!

Bob Austin
Pensacola
thataway4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2019, 06:56 AM   #2

Trailer: None, sold my 2014 5.0TA
Your truck will be fine. I can sit up in the bed with head room to spare, I'm 6"2.