Inverter installed! - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Escape Systems | Water, Waste, Charging & Propane
Click Here to Login

Old 07-15-2018, 07:19 AM   #1

Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
Inverter installed!

After reading many threads on this and other forums I decided to tackle an inverter installation myself. I already had roof top solar but wanted to be able to use the microwave and charge my computer so wanted to have all existing outlets powered on the inverter. I picked up a 2000 watt inverter from Camping World and ordered an automatic transfer switch from Go Power. I have limited electrical experience but the install went without a hitch. Will be Escaping the Florida heat soon heading to Yellowstone for a few months.
Attached Thumbnails
Escape-1-2.jpg  
Double D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 07:24 AM   #2

Trailer: Escape 19 (sold) Escape 21 2014
I also installed an inverter, a bit smaller at 1600 watts. We use it for the microwave and the vacuum cleaner. We have been quite happy with it, if you recognize there are some limitations with the microwave. The first is, that your batteries have to be above 80% charge, and second that you are limited to the amount of time you can run the microwave. We have not discovered just where that sweet spot on time occurs but it is around 10 minutes.

Your results may vary depending on age of batteries.
fudge_brownie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 04:28 PM   #3

I just tried the microwave and it's not going so well. It will run on a very low power setting but not on full power. As you mentioned probably due to the age of my batteries. They are flooded deep cycle but approaching five years old. What batteries do you have?
Old 07-15-2018, 04:58 PM   #4