Inverter load/Victron Gurus step inside..... - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Escape Systems | Water, Waste, Charging & Propane
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-28-2022, 11:25 PM   #1

Trailer: 2022 E19
Inverter load/Victron Gurus step inside.....

Is this normal?

ETI stock build (9/2022) configuration E19 with dual HubLion 100 a/h batts in the front storage box and 1500 watt inverter in the front dinette.

And, I'm new with this lithium/inverter/Victorn stuff. Not a sparky, but have some basic understanding...............I think!

The other day, I plugged in a 1500/750 watt /120v resistance heater to "test" the inverter, and the heater did not seem happy. Heater fan seemed to be running slow and unit was too quiet. Heater starts in a 1,500 watt configuration though I switched it to low immediately....Hmmmmmmmmm.....Victron showed almost 60 amps being pulled with the heater on "Low" (750 watts) and the batt voltage fell to the mid 12's immediately - from 14.3 ish. I was pressed for time do no more real data relating to such. Too many days ago for Victron history....Maybe the 1500 watt start up threw it a curve?

So today I hooked up a 500 watt/120v resistance heater, followed by a 500 watt/120v "scene light" for a bit more discovery.

Batts were around 13.8v at the start.

On the Victron graph below, you can see where I started with the 500 watt heater, which pulled around 35 amps or so. I turned it on and off a few times to see what the voltage reading would do as I was surprised by the voltage drop.