solar install on 21 - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Escape Systems | Water, Waste, Charging & Propane
Click Here to Login

Old 12-14-2017, 01:44 PM   #1

Trailer: Escape 21, July 2018 delivery
solar install on 21

Well, the other half and I finally cracked and ordered the 21 yesterday. Now on to the build sheet.

One question is: one rooftop solar panel, or two. We will likely order one, but are interested in opinions on the second one. I'm not really interested in fiddling with portables, but would consider this as a supplement later if unavoidable.

Another question is which controller, the ETI one, or choose my own. I have lots of experience with 12volt stuff on a sailboat, but nothing on solar. I am inclined toward greater adjustability and electrical information than otherwise.

We already have a pair of 6volt AGMs which we use with our Northern Lite camper, so we will have the trailer wired for them. Our camping tends to be shoulder season rather than the height of summer so the furnace will get used on some trips. I have a battery to battery charger that currently charges the AGMs for the camper, but am not sure I want to use it for the trailer. That is a bloody long wire run. On the other hand, if the charger would actually step input voltage up, it might handle the voltage drop to the charger location fine... Time to call Sterling.

Thoughts would be appreciated...

Cheers,

Allan Edie
AllanEdie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 02:07 PM   #2