Teach me about toilets... - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Escape Systems | Water, Waste, Charging & Propane
Click Here to Login

Old 02-20-2013, 12:44 PM   #1

Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
Teach me about toilets...

I'm looking at the options that Escape offers, and faced with deciding between the different A/B plans that have or don't have built-in toilets/showers. But I have no experience with trailers with toilet facilities, so making an informed decision is kind of tough.

Three options present: built-in toilet with black-water system, porta-potti, or nothing at all.

The wife says "nothing at all" isn't an option, so that makes that decision easy...

So teach me about porta-potties and black water systems...

I'm guessing that a full toilet with black-water system is not as fool-proof as the toilet in your house. I don't think there's a trap in the waste line and I assume they're designed to flush with as little water as possible, so I'd guess you'd occasionally get a whiff of sewer gas in the bathroom when you flush. Is that true? Is it sufficient to leave the fan running into the bathroom to keep a little positive pressure? Or is there some other trick that people use to avoid this problem?

How onerous is it to empty the black water tank?

What are the common problems with these toilets and tanks?

How good are porta-potties at containing the smell? How difficult are they to maintain? How often do you need to maintain them?

Thanks. Any information you can send me way will be appreciated.

2013 Escape 19 ("The Dog House") , 2018 Ford F150
dbailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:10 PM   #2

Trailer: 21 ft November 17th