Coleman Vs Dometic AC - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > Shopping Escape
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-09-2021, 03:58 AM   #1

Trailer: 5.0 TA Delivered 4/7/22
Coleman Vs Dometic AC

Can anyone shed some light on these choices? I'm on the list for a 5.0 and live in Florida . I have NO camper experience and wondering if the upgraded AC (Coleman) is worth it. Most of my intended use will be plugged in to a campsite utilities ,certainly when AC is needed. I'm working on my build list and have decided on the Coleman (I think)....
Old 01-09-2021, 08:36 AM   #2

Trailer: 2021 E19 (Padawan)
My Escape is on order, but from years of RVing experience, both are large enough to cool the trailer. The Coleman will be quieter. The Dometic is loud enough that sometimes I prefer to be hot rather than have it run. You of course may feel otherwise.
Old 01-09-2021, 08:46 AM   #3

Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by sofmerc View Post
Can anyone shed some light on these choices? I'm on the list for a 5.0 and live in Florida . I have NO camper experience and wondering if the upgraded AC (Coleman) is worth it. Most of my intended use will be plugged in to a campsite utilities ,certainly when AC is needed. I'm working on my build list and have decided on the Coleman (I think)....
Jack: I’ve studied quite a few AC’s in my research and this is my take:
-Dometic Penguin 11,000 BTUH (available from Escape) - loudest
-Coleman NDQ 13,500 BTUH (available from Escape) - a bit quieter
Watch this video for a general comparison: