Should we keep saying that 'A' word? - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > Cyber Campfire
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-21-2019, 04:16 PM   #1

Trailer: 2014 21' Escape
Should we keep saying that 'A' word?

I'm sure like me you spent the holidays with family and friends, well one of those for me happens to work as an executive for that 'A' company we all seem to want to buy things from these days. Me being a small business owner I asked him some questions mostly curious to see what his answers would be, many of them his response was I know that but sorry cannot share that info. One thing he did tell me I have to say concerns me and I think we should all think about it next time we just order from this 'A' company. He said that .51 of every 1.00 today spent on the internet is done through them and they still project growth.

Sorry but I don't think any company with this kind of monopoly is good for any of us so if this bothers you like it does me lets try and spread out our internet business.

Enjoy the journey.

Steve
stratos175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 06:24 PM   #2

Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
A company which has only half of a market is, by definition, not a monopoly. The market would likely benefit from more competition, but there certainly is competition; everyone who purchases from them is free to choose another online retailer.

One thing to consider: why does Amazon have such a large market share? They must do something better than most online retailers, or their customers would go to other retailers; are they cheaper, easier to use, easier to find? Simply buying something from another company at higher cost or with less convenience doesn't really accomplish much, in my opinion.