US Army Musician's - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-25-2020, 02:19 PM   #1

Trailer: 2019 Escape 21
US Army Musician's

I just finished watching a documentary with the Fox Christmas music. The US Army was doing the performing. The major band group was about 50 in number I would guess. Being a old soldier I checked their rank. Many E7's, E8's and 3 E9's in the group.

Three E9's (Sgt Maj) in a group of about 50. Incredible! This is the absolute best of the NCO's. It is very difficult to get a soldier promoted to this rank and requires an outstanding record. A Regimental Commander could not function without his SgtMaj. Been there, Done that!

I don't doubt that the band members have an excellent record but when an Infantry Regiment (about 1300-1400 strong) has maybe 6 Sgt Maj's, I gotta think something is wrong with this picture .

There was also a guitar quartet playing country music. The lead guitar was an E8. Very few Infantry soldiers achieve that rank.

What does this have to do with trailers, Nothing, But I feel better!
Old 12-25-2020, 03:30 PM   #2

Trailer: 2021 Escape 5.0 / 2022 F150 SuperCab
Maybe of interest ....

Note "Benefits" with mention of MOS42S “Special Band Musician” and promotion

Ensemble Rosters

I note 7 SGM among the 75 musicians in the U.S. Army Ceremonial Band Roster, just to pick one. Lots of long-serving and highly musically-trained individuals in that elite ensemble.