Durability of Escape if towing on gravel & dirt. - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > General Escape
Click Here to Login

Old 03-04-2023, 12:52 AM   #1
TGK

Trailer: 1971 SAFARI
Durability of Escape if towing on gravel & dirt.

Interested in getting feedback from owners who have experience taking their Escapes off the pavement. I’m talking about the typical road conditions found in western Canada & the US. Think miles of washboard/dirt roads one sees on National Forest and Bureau of Land Management lands. Not talking about Jeep trails. I know they are not off-road trailers. I’m interested in the type of problems people have encountered and how they’ve dealt with them.

I have 25 years of experience with RV’s including a heavy duty truck with pop up truck camper for backroads and a vintage Airstream. Not an expert, but not a newbie. The truck//camper is gone. Still have the Airstream, but considering a change. Over the 18 years of ownership we have taken it off pavement, but usually not far. Over the years I have seen Escapes a bit further off the beaten path, so they are on a short list for our next rig.
TGK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2023, 01:55 AM   #2

Trailer: Escape 21NE
Like everything else, YMMV. The trick seems to be the correct washboard speed. Too slow and you’ll bounce and shudder all over; too fast and you can work cabinetry screws loose. I ran 35 miles at 45mph on partially washboarded gravel and my refrigerator mounting screws backed out a bit, but otherwise there wasn’t an issue.

But I didn’t open any beer from the fridge that day either. ��