Options for the DIY'er - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > General Escape
Click Here to Login

Old 03-17-2021, 08:54 PM   #1

Trailer: 45385
Options for the DIY'er

I am getting very close to final build and want to gather comments on what options will net the best cost savings for the DIY'er. I've been reading this forum for several months about solar, insulation, HVAC, etc. I am a very capable mechanic and engineer, but I don't want to attempt things that are just better off left to a factory install. I want to save some money but I also don't want to get over-my-head or turn my new trailer into a hack-a-thon.

Thanks in advance!
overlandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 09:29 PM   #2

Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B 2020 Toyota Highlander XLE
Can't tell you how many times people have posted that they should have gone with the factory installation of a system. DIY was a bunch of work and they didn't save any money.
Old 03-17-2021, 09:38 PM   #3

Trailer: 2016 Escape 19 Chevy 2012 Express 3500 Van
Yup,

Pay me now, or pay me in spades, with ample aggravation, later.
Get what you want, NOW.
The DIY projects will abound AFTER you get your rig, configured as you'd prefer it.

Anything, anything at all concerning routing wiring should be put in up front. That includes solar, TV stuff, whatever else is your mode of use.
HABBERDABBER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 09:44 PM   #4

Trailer: 2021 Escape 5.0