Picking up next week - ease my gastrointestinal distress - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > General Escape
Click Here to Login

Old 05-08-2021, 11:33 AM   #1
a&e

Trailer: '21 Escape 19
Picking up next week - ease my gastrointestinal distress

We're headed to Sumas next week to pick up our new 19! Unfortunately, we are complete newbies and the only thing I've ever pulled behind a vehicle is maybe a neck muscle while looking under the tires for roadkill.

We (or at least I) am convinced that we will arrive in Sumas and realize we have forgotten something critical, so I am asking this community for help. Let's start with what I remembered/learned:

1) printed towing capacity does not equal ability to tow - found this out the hard way and had to trade in our Kia Sorrento (without tow package) for a Dodge Durango G/T with tow package. It has a 7-pin, 2" hitch receiver, and integral brake controller so I think we are good to go.

2) I remembered just last night I need to get the trailer insured and will call on Monday!

3) We think we need a towing mirror. We did get the back up camera option for the trailer but I am not clear whether the trailer camera can run while we are driving. The Dodge's camera can, but that's not going to do us much good other than to allow us to admire the front of the new trailer while driving, which seems ill-advised. Can anyone comment on this?

4) we remembered to find a place to store the trailer since our driveway is super steep.

5) we remembered to pay, lamentably. To make up for that, I forgot to pay our credit card bill which explained why our online taco order was declined last night.

6) we remembered to get the torque wrench. And the thingy that you put on the wrench.