Retirement - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-17-2019, 08:44 AM   #1

Trailer: 2017 21' Escape - upgraded version
Retirement

Life is strange. We spend most of it trying to get ahead, look after our family, and plan for a time when we can retire. Retirement planning to most is will we have enough saved back to be able to retire.

Well, for me, retirement came a little earlier than I expected but the financial part was covered. However, the part I didn't expect was the loss of identity that came with no longer working. My identity was based on "I'm an engineer" more than anything else. After retirement, I lost that identity - it seems that a retiree is no longer as qualified as someone who is still working.

It's taken a few years to get over that loss of identity (somewhat) and it's getting better. The urge to pass on technical knowledge is still there but it doesn't bother me as much when I get ignored because I'm retired.

Looking at the market news today, I found an interesting article that would have helped if I had read it before I retired. It may be a good read for you as well.

You’re probably not ready to retire — psychologically
https://www.marketwatch.com/story/wh...?mod=fa_center

My thanks to the forum for putting up with me as I have struggled with retirement.
Old 06-17-2019, 09:37 AM   #2

Trailer: 21' Escape in production 12/05/19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdf-texas View Post
Life is strange. We spend most of it trying to get ahead, look after our family, and plan for a time when we can retire. Retirement planning to most is will we have enough saved back to be able to retire.