Yamaha EF2000IS - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > General Escape
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2015, 03:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 579
Yamaha EF2000IS

Hey,

Just recently IE yesterday lol we had power outages in my area for extended times. I had to get ready for work and needed my coffee and thermos filled. Instead of hooking up my large generator I figured let me see how the little EF2000IS works with a two coffee maker load on it. The 12 cup hooked Cuisinart was hooked up started and gave it a few minutes and then started the other 8 cup Cuisinart. The Yamaha kicked out apparently the load was to much power cord used was 12 gauge 25 foot cord. I do realize the heating elements require a lot of wattage but figured it could handle it ah well now I know. I figured I would pass this along to those who are looking at generators.

Cypher
__________________

Cypherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 04:18 PM   #2
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central, Pennsylvania
Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
Posts: 26,018
So what was the combined wattage you were using?
__________________

__________________
Jim
Sometime life gets in the way of living.......
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 04:48 PM   #3
Site Team
 
rbryan4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas
Trailer: 2015 19 "Past Tents", 2021 F150 Lariat 2.7L EB
Posts: 10,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cypherian View Post
Hey,

Just recently IE yesterday lol we had power outages in my area for extended times. I had to get ready for work and needed my coffee and thermos filled. Instead of hooking up my large generator I figured let me see how the little EF2000IS works with a two coffee maker load on it. The 12 cup hooked Cuisinart was hooked up started and gave it a few minutes and then started the other 8 cup Cuisinart. The Yamaha kicked out apparently the load was to much power cord used was 12 gauge 25 foot cord. I do realize the heating elements require a lot of wattage but figured it could handle it ah well now I know. I figured I would pass this along to those who are looking at generators.

Cypher
One pot would probably have tripped it if were my home pot - a Newco OCS-12. The darn thing uses 1450 watts, but it makes great coffee.
__________________
"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy an RV. And that is pretty close."
rbryan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 04:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BCnomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: O town, British Columbia
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21 "Lightning"
Posts: 1,467
My large keurig wound up my 1600 Champion. Had to be 1300+ watts or there abouts.
BCnomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 05:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 579
Hey CPA,


One the 8 Cup DCC-1150 Is 1025 watts according to the bottom of the unit the website does not have the information it is 2 years old https://www.cuisinart.com/products/c...cc-1150bk.html
The other 12 Cup DTC-975BKN is 1000 Watts according to the bottom of the unit the website does not have the information it is less than 3 months old https://www.cuisinart.com/products/c...tc-975bkn.html


Out of the box, the EF2000iS is rated for 1600 watts (max. 2000 watts) and 13.3 amps (max. 16.7 amps) @ 120V AC. In addition, the unit can output 8A/12V DC with the included cables, ideal for charging car, RV and boat batteries.

But that’s not all – using Yamaha's TwinTech™ technology you can connect two units for 3600 watts, 30 amps of maximum power (requires the TwinTech accessory cable available at extra cost).

http://www.yamahaef2000is.com/


My math is rusty but 1.6k + 1.6k = 3.2k not 3.6k :}


The unit is very nice and it is very quiet, this was the first real test other then putting a load on it once a month to keep maintained. All it means is if your going to use this size model monitor your appliances. In all honesty I just presumed the 2.0k meant 2.0k watts normal usually generators have a bit more for load starts but not continuous run. I have even read the manual twice lol just skipped over that part as I thought I knew the wattage :{


Cypher
Cypherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 06:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 14,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cypherian View Post
But that’s not all – using Yamaha's TwinTech™ technology you can connect two units for 3600 watts, 30 amps of maximum power (requires the TwinTech accessory cable available at extra cost).

Yamaha EF2000iS Generator


My math is rusty but 1.6k + 1.6k = 3.2k not 3.6k :}
Sure, but 2k + 2k = 4k, and 4k > 3.6k
In other words, the maximum output of the combined setup is 3600 watts - within the maximum (not continuous) limit of two 2000-watt generators, and limited by the 30-amp capacity (and thus 30A x 120V = 3600W) of the outlet and cord.
Yeah, continuously it would only handle 3200 watts.
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 07:14 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 579
Some how I knew someone would go there with the A*V=W I am aware of the this. I would prefer that manufacturers state the real world numbers, it does state the rating is 1.6Kw so I will stick with if you hook two together you get 3.2Kw. Let me know when you hook two together if you get 3.6Kw . Using their numbers again at max it is 2.0Kw with a max of 16.7A now hmm that works out to 2.004Kw and min 13.3A x 120v = 1596 watts not 1600 so....have a good one. Le Sigh.


Cypher
Cypherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 07:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 14,831
It's not a big deal, but the numbers are all consistent. The "3600 watts, 30 amps of maximum power" claim is just for maximum through a 30-amp cord, not rated power.... just like the number implied by the model number (2000) is maximum, not rated.

I do agree that selling products according to their continuous duty rating would be better than trumpeting the maximum. This is a lot like stereo amps of decades ago claiming wild output power (that they could reach, but only into 2-ohm speakers), or air compressors being sold with power ratings built from some scheme that has no relationship to physical possibility ("5 horsepower" compressors fed with only 1800 watts of electricity), or my pet peeve: woodworking routers with 2.5 hp (1865 watts) ratings, again fed with only 1800 watts of electricity (and very imperfect efficiency). At least the generator really can put out 2000 watts (and a pair can put out 3600 watts through a 30-amp cord), at least briefly.
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 07:39 PM   #9
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central, Pennsylvania
Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
Posts: 26,018
Is this the Yamaha unit that came with the Escape?
__________________
Jim
Sometime life gets in the way of living.......
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 07:57 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpaharley2008 View Post
Is this the Yamaha unit that came with the Escape?
Yep no worries it was an experiment , when it gets warmer lol I plan on seeing just what it will and won't do. I am taking it to Maine in August for dry camping. There are tons of trees around the property I am going to so not sure how much I can get from the solar panel.

Cypher
Cypherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 08:09 PM   #11
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central, Pennsylvania
Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
Posts: 26,018
Well I know it will run the a/c, that I did check. Enjoy, hopefully the snow will be gone when you head north.
__________________
Jim
Sometime life gets in the way of living.......
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 08:36 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 579
No worries CPA like I said just testing it out :} If need be I can drag the 8500 Honda down to the site and use it lol . Though I may get a buddy to do some judicious tree trimming for more sun before I get there. I would prefer not to run the generator at all.


Cypher
Cypherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 08:44 PM   #13
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central, Pennsylvania
Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
Posts: 26,018
I'm thinking of adding another solar panel and switching to dual sixers. Sam's Club have them for $85/each and the 130 watt panel is about $200- that maybe the way to go. I'm going on Monday for the batteries and once warm weather hits glue the solar right to the roof.
__________________
Jim
Sometime life gets in the way of living.......
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 09:44 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 579
I would love to swap out the smaller panel to the 130 watt but have not gotten around to contact ETI for model and manufacturer info to get dimension's to possibly fabricate a mount system. I have read here somewhere that it would not fit in the same location.


Cypher
Cypherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 10:22 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Vermilye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oswego, New York
Trailer: 2017 Escape 21C, 2018 Ford F150
Posts: 5,102
Here is a spreadsheet I've put together with electrical data & dimensions of a bunch of panels - I'm waiting until the snow melts to make a couple of templates & see if I can add one to the 17.

I believe the choices from Escape (the GoPower panels) are either 95 Watt or 160 Watt. If you plan to parallel the panels, the Vmp should be as close as possible.

Solar Panels
__________________
Jon Vermilye My Travel Blog
Travel and Photo Web Page ... My Collection of RV Blogs 2018 F150 3.5EB, 2017 21
Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 08:23 AM   #16
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central, Pennsylvania
Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
Posts: 26,018
Jon,
What is "VMP" mentioned and isn't parallel the preferred method?
__________________
Jim
Sometime life gets in the way of living.......
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 08:46 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 579
Hey John,


Thanks , you wouldn't perchance know off hand does it matter to the go power how much wattage / how many panels are hooked to it ? Something to think about for further down the road. I am considering switching to dual 6 volts when the current battery goes. Currently though lol , I have several other mods in various stages of drawing, mock up, build and since I did not win the lottery well lol takes time and money:}


Cypher
Cypherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 11:12 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Vermilye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oswego, New York
Trailer: 2017 Escape 21C, 2018 Ford F150
Posts: 5,102
Jim - Voc is the open circuit voltage produced by the panel, i.e. what you would read connecting a volt meter to the leads form the panel (under ideal solar conditions) Vmp is the voltage when the panel is producing maximum power, i.e. the voltage when the panel is operating under normal conditions connected to a controller.

If you are using a PWM controller such as the GoPower unit, the panels should be connected in parallel since PWM controllers do not gain output current with higher input voltages. If you had a MPPT controller, there are advantages to connecting panels in series - it reduces current, allowing smaller wiring, and the controller will convert the higher voltage to greater output current. Unfortunately, most MPPT controllers cost much more than the equivalent quality PWM controller so the choice of type depends on the size of the system.

While I'm sure some will disagree with me, for the typical small systems we can fit on fiberglass trailers, it generally is not worth the additional cost of a MPPT controller, but for large systems they make sense.

Cypher - The GoPower controller is a 30 amp unit - if you use the Imp (or more conservatively, the Isc) of the panels & add them, as long as they are under 30 amps you are OK. According to the GoPower site, their controller is designed for 80 watts - 480 watts of panels. One important note - the GoPower 30 amp controller is used in current trailers - an older version (the GP-PWM-25) may be in older trailers, which is a 25 amp controller.
__________________
Jon Vermilye My Travel Blog
Travel and Photo Web Page ... My Collection of RV Blogs 2018 F150 3.5EB, 2017 21
Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 11:23 AM   #19
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central, Pennsylvania
Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
Posts: 26,018
Thanks Jon...
__________________

__________________
Jim
Sometime life gets in the way of living.......
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Escape Trailer Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×