Battery Disconnect Switch relocate - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Modifications and Alterations
Click Here to Login

Old 07-30-2019, 05:34 PM   #1

Trailer: 2019 Escape 19
Battery Disconnect Switch relocate

Hi,
Recently purchased an Escape 19, and decided to upgrade and relocate the battery disconnect Switch.

For various reasons the new switch is installed in the Battery storage compartment.
Note: the Factory installed Battery Disconnect Switch was deleted

A result of installing using this method is that the solar charging is also disconnected, when the Battery Disconnect Switch is turned Off.
Depending on your preference, this may be an advantage or a disadvantage.

I’m not an expert ... but I did ask around, before installing it this way.
Attached Thumbnails
D69B704B-4512-4193-AE97-698D96902B40.jpg  
dsbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 06:07 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
I always thought is was best to keep the solar connected to batteries all the time, stopping the flow from the panels was not healthy for the system and it keeps your batteries charged in the winter, no chance from freezing. This is the way the interior switch is set up, solar still connected but every thing else disconnected.
Old 07-30-2019, 06:54 PM   #3

Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Yes, I set my solar up to be charging at all times, even with the DC switch off. I like that the batteries are always kept topped up. I thought this is what Escape does too, no?

Personally, i like the switch to be convenient, at least for in the past as I shut it off often when not using the camper, though now with solar rarely do that except long storage periods.
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote