E-21 Battery/Box venting mod. - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Modifications and Alterations
Click Here to Login

Old 08-08-2017, 03:49 PM   #1

Trailer: 2012 Escape-19
E-21 Battery/Box venting mod.

The E-21 stock battery box venting set up does not work very well. The vent is on the side of the box and Hydrogen gas collects in the top of the battery box and can leak out into the trailer. AGM batteries are an fix option but I am not in a position to spend about $600 for that fix.
To cut down on water loss and vapors I changed out the battery caps to Flow System, Water Miser Medium Height Battery caps. The caps are suppose to cut down on water vapor and gas being released from the battery. I have no prior experience with the caps but I thought I would try them. https://www.flowsystemsusa.com/
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_4493.JPG
Views:	43
Size:	327.9 KB
ID:	26357 The best price for these was on E-Bay.

Click image for larger version

Name:	100_4494.JPG
Views:	59
Size:	326.5 KB
ID:	26358
I added a top vent (90 Deg. electrical waterproof conduit connector) to the box top which just fits under the seat and a 1/2" hose is routed to the rear of the trailer and I installed a 5/8" Perko boat gas tank vent behind the spare tire. The vent line is level and above the battery box top. I did have to shorten the horiz. seat support and scab on another seat support block. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Attached Thumbnails
100_4496.JPG   100_4495.JPG   100_4498.JPG   100_4499.JPG  
elongest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 04:03 PM   #2
Site Team

Trailer: 2015 19 "Past Tents", 2021 F150 Lariat 2.7L EB
Nice solution Eddie. I guess you'll know soon enough if it works - no propane alarm going off.
Old 08-08-2017, 04:11 PM   #3