Installing 12V Tank Heaters, Need Advice - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Modifications and Alterations
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-02-2019, 11:45 AM   #1

Trailer: 2018 17B
Installing 12V Tank Heaters, Need Advice

Hello, I'm a newbie on the forum. After our first winter trip last year, we discovered why tank heaters are needed. I got a quote from a highly-recommended shop.
I need advice before I go ahead with the job. I have a 2018 17B.

1. Do we need a second 12V battery? We'll be running the heaters while we're driving or plugged into shore power. The mechanic says we need the extra battery for when we stop along the road. Couldn't we just turn off the heaters for 15 or 20 minutes, or leave the truck running ?

Also, why does he recommend adding a 2nd 12V battery instead of switching to 2 6V batteries? Is it for the cost (since we already have 1 12V battery) or is there a technical reason?

2. He says we need to add a second converter for the tank heaters, since they take 36 Amps . Our current converter is 40A. Do we need this 2nd converter (plus the new 12V DC distribution system)? We have 30A now. I understand that with 30A service you can have > 30A of equipment since everything isn't turned on at once, but with the tank heating pads will we have to change to 50A?

Any advice or thoughts will be appreciated!
Old 10-02-2019, 01:05 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19