New solar for 19 - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Modifications and Alterations
Click Here to Login

Old 07-23-2016, 03:10 PM   #1

Trailer: 2009 Escape 19
New solar for 19

The last few weekends I have been putting together a permanent solar setup for my 2009 Escape 19 which I recently purchased. I used two 100 watt Renogy panels mounted to the roof with AM Solar's tilt hardware and fabricated 6" x 3" pvc mounts, secured with 3m 5200 ( thanks, Klem, for the idea!).

Inside, I have Bogart Engineering SC-2030 solar charger and TM2030-RV battery monitor. I used 8 gauge cable from the roof to the solar charger. The battery is a VMaxTanks 12 volt 155 amp AGM. I replaced the original 12 volt under the front of the U shaped dinette which was in a plastic box that was very difficult to access. I modified the original vent to accommodate the new battery box(although AGMs don't require as much venting).

[IMG]http://i1140.photobucket.com/albums/n568/garlandmeyer/54a4a4bc0ff7a9635c87e8072f7d0f4b_zpsthlyqhij.jpg[/IMG

I am looking forward to camping in less developed areas in the fall and winter. It is too hot right now to think about not having air conditioning!
Old 07-23-2016, 03:38 PM   #2
Site Team

Trailer: 2015 19 "Past Tents", 2021 F150 Lariat 2.7L EB
Nice work. Do the panels tilt either way?
Old 07-23-2016, 03:57 PM   #3

Trailer: 2013 19 Escape
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlaGman View Post
The last few weekends I have been putting together a permanent solar setup for my 2009 Escape 19 which I recently purchased. I used two 100 watt Renogy panels mounted to the roof with AM Solar's tilt hardware and fabricated 6" x 3" pvc mounts, secured with 3m 5200 ( thanks, Klem, for the idea!).