anderson hitch lock - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login

Old 02-27-2018, 12:13 PM   #1

Trailer: 5.0TA 2017
anderson hitch lock

i know there is a thread on this but i cant seem to find it - just got my new lock but the chain attachments are going the wrong way so it wont go on. I'm guessing I need to loosen the bolt and turn them correct? i might have to remove them and switch them too - one forward one back but i have to re look at the hitch and lock together. Also is this hitch lock suppose to go on with the pad lock to the rear?

I'm not good at the whole tool thing but is that some thing i could do (remove/loosen the bolts) with that socket wench thing and the appropriate attachment or will i not be strong enough and should take it to a hitch shop?
Fox hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 12:54 PM   #2

Trailer: 2015 5.0 TA
Kate, if your Andersen unit is mounted with the ball at the back, or cable release coming out the passenger's side, the chain attachment will be on passengers side offset to the front and the other chain attachment on the drivers side will be to the back.
If you do not have the wrenches or socket wrenches, you may need some one else to help you.
Old 02-27-2018, 02:49 PM   #3

on my passenger side the my chain attachment is set back right next to the cable release. so if the pad lock is in the rear the chain attachment will not line up. So will the lock work for my set up?
Old 02-27-2018, 02:59 PM   #4

Trailer: 2017 5.0 TA picked up in July 2017.
https://andersenhitches.com/uploads/...stallation.pdf

Note that the eyelet should be on the opposite side of the cable release. This way the chain and eyelet won't interfere with the release mechanism.