New to trailers what’s your best advice - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-28-2021, 11:20 AM   #1

Trailer: Escape 5.0 2021
New to trailers what’s your best advice

Hi everyone!
My 5.0 will be delivered (hopefully) in the next 2-3 weeks!
I am new to trailers.
What is your best advice and suggestions?
Anything from lists to driving!
Thanks so much!
Shiloh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 11:40 AM   #2

Trailer: 2019 5.0TA "Junior", 2019 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi
You came to the right place....you are probably about to receive a tsunami of advice

If this is your first trailer, hitching and backing up will take some time and practice to master, don't be discouraged if it seems like a pain at first. Learn the several steps to hitching up with your particular hitch, and try to have no distractions when you are hitching up, that's a bad time to miss a step.

Escape will probably provide you with a laminated checklist which is a great starting point - use it. Over time you will develop your own checklist, and no matter how long you own your trailer it's always a good idea to go through the checklist every single time you get ready to hitch up and drive. My wife usually goes through the inside checklist, stowing and securing everything, while I am going through the outside items.

It may take a while for you to figure out where you want hooks etc. on wall surfaces - 3M Command hooks are great for that, you can put them up and them easily relocate them if you find that you want them in a different spot.