Trailer rear view camera - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-21-2021, 01:24 AM   #1

Trailer: 2019 Escape 21C
Trailer rear view camera

We just purchased a 2019 Escape 21C. It has a "camera connection" per the seller's information from Escape. What camera, monitor & wiring do I need to purchase? My tow vehicle is a 2019 Ram 1500, which has a backup camera. I appreciate any help. Thanks.
Glenn54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2021, 12:12 AM   #2

Trailer: 2013 17B
First off, a disclaimer...I have no real world experience, but I have recently done a bunch of research on that general topic...

First, you can probably call ETI to find out exactly what and where the 'camera connection' is. Then, I'd suggest you go to a car stereo store with the trailer to see what they suggest. There are wireless options or wired options. Wired options will be less expensive I'm quite sure. If your current stereo setup has additional inputs for other cameras, perhaps you can connect to it. As new as your truck is, you might be in luck.

I purchased a used 2013 17B and have a 2001 Tundra as a tow vehicle. I decided to upgrade the original stereo system so that I could have a backup camera, siriusxm, and navigation. The head unit I chose actually has inputs for multiple cameras, so I've decided to install a camera on the back of the trailer too. I'm gonna have to run a video cable under to the rear of the trailer, which you shouldn't need to do. I'm working out the details now but it looks like it's gonna work. The final hurdle is weatherproof fittings at the hitch area connection.

Good luck and let us know what you chose to do.
Rickshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2021, 12:21 AM   #3