Microwave plug - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2012, 09:35 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Chapitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Trailer: 2014 5TA/ *012 17B (previous)
Posts: 396
Microwave plug

Can the microwave plug be used for anything else? It says for microwave only.
__________________

Chapitre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:52 PM   #2
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,692
I believe it is 20 amp circuit and yes it can be used like a regular outlet. I belive what the sign means that the microwave may pull 20 amps and if you have something else plugged in the extra outlet it may blow the circuit. But if the microwave is not in use you should be ok. Some trailers only have single microwave outlets for that reason, Escape gives you that extra outlet, which we all know are needed in our little homes.
__________________

__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 12:59 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Portland, Oregon
Trailer: 2013 15B
Posts: 125
We picked up our 15B last week. During our thorough walkthrough with Dave, he opened the cabinet where folks keep their microwave and pointed out the "Microwave Only" label and mentioned that the label was required by code but that the outlet could be used for anything.
__________________
Jim and Robin
15B
Jeep Liberty
JimJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:30 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jim Bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 11,934
By code, outlets are not allowed in cabinetry at all. The basic reason is that people could plug anything in, including things with shoddy cords, and when other stuff is stored their too, on and around these cords, it creates a fire hazard. It is okay to use a plug in a cabinet for microwave though, as it is assumed that this will be the only thing plugged in to it, and the cord supplied with the microwave is adequate in size as it has to meet CSA approval.

This said, if you are careful, there really is no reason to not use it. This space is our pantry, and would actually be an awkward place to have something plugged in anyway.

We often have customers wanting us to install an appliance garage when we build them a new kitchen, and want us to put a plug inside the garage. We are not allowed by code to do this, and when the inspector comes around and sees one, immediately checks for a plug inside.
__________________
2017 Escape 5.0 TA
2015 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5L EcoBoost
2009 Escape 19 (previous)
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 11:31 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
GaryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Parksville, British Columbia
Trailer: '07 17B
Posts: 151
X2 what Jim said. I'll also add that it is a 20 amp breaker, so that if your appliance (or whatever you are plugging in) is rated at 15 Amps, then you also run the (slight) risk of a meltdown in the event of a short.
__________________
'07 17B
'07 FJ Cruiser
https://www.1000cranesofhope.com/
GaryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:44 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
LBaranyai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
Trailer: 2011 Escape 17B
Posts: 231
Because we went with the larger fridge, the cabinet is too small to fit a microwave. The outlet would have been eliminated in order to meet ministry of transport regulations but I told Reace I had to have the outlet as I was using the cabinet for my blu-Ray player. After some discussion and checking into other RV appliances, he went ahead and installed the outlet. We decided that the outlet was required for my RV pizza oven - if anyone asked.
__________________
2011 17B 2003 TOYOTA TACOMA
Our "FIRE ESCAPE"
"Put the wet stuff on the red stuff"
LBaranyai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:43 AM   #7
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,692
Where there is a will, there is a way, I doubt that you would or will find that type of cooperation with anyone else who manufactures a product today. Everyone is concerned with compliance and too busy to find a work around it. Glad it worked out.
__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 01:54 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Devil Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Steveston B.C., British Columbia
Trailer: 2012- 17'B.... 2016 Tacoma SR5 TRD
Posts: 455
I was wondering if the 20 amp breaker can be swapped out for a 15 amp.
My trailer is in storage so I'm not able to check at this time.
__________________
I've almost been everywhere man.
Almost been everywhere.....
Devil Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 02:49 AM   #9
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,692
why would you want that? The wiring and outlet has been upgraded to handle the heavier circuit, why put a smaller breaker? It can always be used as a 15 amp circuit with 20 amp capacity, similar to you home with 200 amp capacity broken down into smaller 15/20/40 amp circuits.
__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 09:36 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jim Bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 11,934
Jim is right, though there is no issue with swapping out a 20A breaker for a 15, there is no safety reason to do it. If an entire circuit is designed for 20A (12 gauge wire, and a 20A rated plug), you can safely use whatever appliance you would like rated up the that amperage, which translates to just over 2,000 Watts.
__________________

__________________
2017 Escape 5.0 TA
2015 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5L EcoBoost
2009 Escape 19 (previous)
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.