Tank monitor - Page 2 - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 09:30 PM   #11
Senior Member
gbaglo's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Vancouver, British Columbia
Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B - "Toad". '08 Toyota RAV4 V6
Posts: 8,728
I find the monitor only raises my anxiety level. Trying to figure out why empty tanks read 1/3 full or fretting when the fresh water is below one half.
It could be that ignorance is bliss.

2009 Escape 17B "Toad"
2008 Toyota RAV4 V6 Sport
North Vancouver, British Columbia

What happens to the hole when the cheese is gone?
- Bertolt Brecht
gbaglo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:07 AM   #12
Senior Member
float5's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Midwest, Iowa
Trailer: 2015 Escape 21'; 2011 19' sold; 4Runner
Posts: 3,231
Jim, I'd like to have one of those digital monitors with gallons but we are probably too cheap to pay for one until we have a couple of other items that are more important to us. Maybe later.

gocamp, I was reading elsewhere and they said to use plenty of water when flushing. We always use one of those toilet chemical packs after the dump station. That requires a gallon of water so there is always a good amount of water in there before arriving at the next campground.

Cathy. Floating Cloud
"Live in the sunshine, swim the sea, drink the wild air.... "
float5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 10:23 AM   #13
Senior Member
Vermilye's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oswego, New York
Trailer: 2011 Escape 17B, 2016 Tacoma Off Road
Posts: 1,723
Originally Posted by cpaharley2008 View Post
Has anyone switched out their generic tank monitor ? The factory stock one, to me is too inaccurate and identical to those in 95% other units. They now have digital monitors that express the reading in % or gallons/liters vs 1/3,2/3 etc.
With the solar you really do not need a battery monitor, so a digital 3 tank system would be all that is needed. Any ideas? Something like this
The problem with the Tank Edge monitor is it uses capacitive pads to measure the tank levels, not the original sensors. Without installing strips of aluminum tape on the outsides of your tanks, it won't work. If you have sprayed insulation in the tanks, this could be difficult to do. Check out the video that shows the installation process.

As to using the sensors I linked in the previous post - no I haven't used them, just read posts from others that felt they were an improvement over the old type.

Jon Vermilye My Travel Blog
Travel and Photo Web Page ... My Collection of RV Blogs 2016 Tacoma 2011 17B
Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.