RMD Exhaust Flue - Page 8 - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-03-2017, 05:48 PM   #141
Commercial Member

Trailer: 2014 Escape 21 - "Felicity"
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiman View Post
If I was pulling the Frig, I would do this. The only thing I would turn the T a bit sideways to get it away from the plywood and trailer wall. I think this would induce a nice draft with the boiler heat introduced above the coils.
I plan on getting rid of the "T" when I pull the fridge. I think Dometic sticks it on all their smaller fridges as the "caravans" in Europe can also install their "through-the-side wall" vent kit - they don't have roof vents. When I checked into my two local big RV/Trailers service shops, I was told none of the larger Dometic fridges have that "T" on top.

I'm a retired mechanical engineer with HVAC training, and that "T" impedes the flow compared to no "T". When I put my hand over either end of the "T" running on both electric and gas, hot air flowed outward from both ends.

Need custom storage to your design? Don't drill holes!
www.RVWidgetWorks.com
tractors1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017, 08:09 PM   #142

Trailer: 2014 19'
Quote:
Originally Posted by tractors1 View Post
I plan on getting rid of the "T" when I pull the fridge. I think Dometic sticks it on all their smaller fridges as the "caravans" in Europe can also install their "through-the-side wall" vent kit - they don't have roof vents. When I checked into my two local big RV/Trailers service shops, I was told none of the larger Dometic fridges have that "T" on top.

I'm a retired mechanical engineer with HVAC training, and that "T" impedes the flow compared to no "T". When I put my hand over either end of the "T" running on both electric and gas, hot air flowed outward from both ends.