Solar panel output - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2024, 10:06 AM   #1

Trailer: Escape
Solar panel output

Trying to interpret the efficiency of the solar panel. I have a 96w panel mounted flat on the roof.

I’m thinking that the maximum panel output is 5.33 amps (96/18v) going to the controller. But how many amps is the maximum that the charger sending to the battery at 13.7v? (96/13.7=7 amps? In other words, what is the theoretical maximum I could see on the controller screen?

Thanks.
Viajante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2024, 10:39 AM   #2

Trailer: 2019 Escape 19 "Lily"
Send a message via MSN to Sean Murry Send a message via Yahoo to Sean Murry
I am no expert by a long shot, but wouldn't it be 96/12 not 18 for a maximum output of 8 amps
Sean Murry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2024, 11:06 AM   #3

Trailer: 2017 Escape 21C, 2018 Ford F150
It depends on the type of controller you are using. A PWM (the least expensive type controller) uses the turning on & off the current going to the battery to prevent over charging. With a PWM controller you wil never get more amperage than the panel can produce at its current rating.

A MPPT controller had a built in DC to DC converter that can better match the panel output to the needs of the battery, and can, when lowering voltage, increase amperage.

In all cases, the wattage rating is pretty much an ideal. Unless it is cold out & the sun is perpendicular to the panel, and no clouds, haze, etc, you will not get any where near the panel rating.
Old 02-26-2024, 11:14 AM   #4

Trailer: 2018 Escape 19
Having looked at the output of a solar panel when it is flat and directly pointed at the sun, there is a huge difference. Unless the sun is directly over your roof top panel you will never get its maximum output.

https://www.escapeforum.org/forums/f8...ape-12918.html