Amp rating of electrical outlets - Page 4 - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Modifications and Alterations
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2014, 09:56 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
MyronL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Edgewood, New Mexico
Trailer: 2013 Esc19/'14 Silvrado
Posts: 2,063
Jack to my knowledge if you're using shore power the answer is yes but if you are off the grid, using 12 volt battery power, you need an inverter. However it is wise to get that confirmed by someone less electrically challenged than ne.
__________________

__________________
Myron
"A billion here, a billion there...add it all up and before you know it you're talking real money." Everett Dirkson
MyronL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:02 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
thoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Galesville, Wisconsin
Trailer: 2017 21 "Blue II" & 2017 Highlander XLE (previously 2010 17B "Blue" & 2008 Tacoma)
Posts: 3,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by azjack View Post
Myron, will the pictured outlet allow me to plug any of my Apple items directly into the plug. My phone, wifes I-pad and my lap top all have different sizes of transformers and we don't interchange them?
Jack
Jack - what I have read is that with USB charging, it is ok to plug a lower current draw device like the iPhone into a higher capacity transformer like the iPad's. The iPhone will still just draw current at its desired charge rate. But if you try the reverse i.e.to plug an iPad into an iPhone transformer (with less output capacity) it won't charge correctly. So, as long as the rated current maximum output of the outlet is as high or higher than the transformer that came with the device, you should be good to go. (At least according to what an electrical engineer explained)
__________________

__________________
Eric (and Mary who is in no way responsible for anything stupid I post)

SAE Towing Standard "Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance." George Bernard Shaw
thoer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:08 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
thoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Galesville, Wisconsin
Trailer: 2017 21 "Blue II" & 2017 Highlander XLE (previously 2010 17B "Blue" & 2008 Tacoma)
Posts: 3,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyronL View Post
Jack to my knowledge if you're using shore power the answer is yes but if you are off the grid, using 12 volt battery power, you need an inverter. However it is wise to get that confirmed by someone less electrically challenged than ne.
Myron, I think you are right, as there will be no power supplied to that outlet when using battery power unless you have a system wide inverter. I do all my DC device (iPhone, iPad, MacBook) charging with chargers that plug into the 12v outlets.
__________________
Eric (and Mary who is in no way responsible for anything stupid I post)

SAE Towing Standard "Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance." George Bernard Shaw
thoer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:38 AM   #34
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by azjack View Post
Myron, will the pictured outlet allow me to plug any of my Apple items directly into the plug. My phone, wifes I-pad and my lap top all have different sizes of transformers and we don't interchange them?
Jack
You should be able to plug any USB charger into these and they will function while on 120v. If on 12v then you use a simple 12v plug with USB, they work also even while plugged in. That is why everything in Blackjack is made to operate off 12v, it operates while plugged in or while on battery power.
__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:38 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
Jim Bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 11,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yukon Escape View Post
the wire is matched to the load of the breaker, both 15 and 20 can be wired with 14 gauge wire

Doug
This is absolutely not true. You MUST use 12g wire to be able to have a 20A circuit.

I install dozens of microwaves every year, and have yet to see one that required a 20A circuit. When built in, we do have to supply a dedicated 15A feed to it, something I thought Escape did with the M/W plug in their trailers.
__________________
2017 Escape 5.0 TA
2015 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5L EcoBoost
2009 Escape 19 (previous)
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:41 AM   #36
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey View Post
Doug, are you sure? I thought 20A required 12ga wire...
that is my thought also, if there is 20 amp circuit breaks and 15 amp wiring, the wiring may overheat if the draw is too great ad cause a fire. This is what happens in homes with heaters that draw more than the extension wire capacity, the wires melt and causes fires.
__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 11:16 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
TAfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Auburn, Washington
Trailer: 2013 Escape 21 #3
Posts: 378
Remember the old saying; where it's only as good as the weakest link? Well in the case where the homeowner uses 14ga wire with a 20A breaker and outlet, the wire is the weakest link. The problem with electricity is that this setup can be very dangerous. As stated earlier, homes have burned down, with loss of life, by doing just that. Never replace a panel fuse or breaker with a larger one, and never replace a 15A outlet with a 20A model. Let's all be safe out there.
TAfraser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:07 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Vermilye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oswego, New York
Trailer: 2016 Tacoma Off Road, 2017 21
Posts: 2,281
The confusion comes from the fact that the NEC allows you to put 15 amp receptacles on #12 wire protected by a 20 amp circuit breaker as long as there is more than one receptacle on the circuit. Going the other way (20 amp receptacles on a 15 amp breaker & #14 wire) is not allowed.

Back to the original point - Before installing permanent USB outlets, either 12V or 120V, check the current rating. Some devices, such as an Apple iPad or my WiFi Ranger router draw as much as 2 amps on the USB side. Many adapters & outlets are rated at less than this. I prefer to add standard 12V outlets & use plug in adapters rated to match the USB device current requirements. That provides more flexible connections.
__________________
Jon Vermilye My Travel Blog
Travel and Photo Web Page ... My Collection of RV Blogs 2016 Tacoma, 2017 21
Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:22 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
TAfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Auburn, Washington
Trailer: 2013 Escape 21 #3
Posts: 378
Jon, I agree about the power requirement differences between all of our cool little electronic devices. I'm just hoping that the outlet I installed will do the trick and reduce the number of transformers I have to carry. The outlet indicated above, model # TR7745W-K-L, is a 15A outlet and provides 2.1A to the two USB ports. Other than plugging my tablet in to verify that it starts charging and that the indicator light works, I haven't used it yet. Here's hoping.

And you're right about the AC circuit you wrote about in the first of your post. The week link is the 15A outlet which limits the use of the circuit below it's capacity, thus keeping it safe. The problem arises when going the other way, running a 20A load using 15A wire.
Tom
TAfraser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 06:41 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 9,052
One more comment on the 15A/20A issue: if you put a single 15A outlet on a circuit with a 20A breaker and 12ga wiring, you have made the outlet the weak link... so you need the 20A outlet, too. I agree with Jim on the microwave requirements as well - it's hard to imagine a residential microwave oven needing more than 1800 watts for brief periods or 1500 watts for sustained periods, so they don't need a 20A circuit.
__________________

Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.