Gfci - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2016, 08:26 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Felton, California
Trailer: Escape 19', 2014
Posts: 770
Gfci

On the last leg of our trip and, naturally, we had to encounter as least one issue. Unfortunately, my tablet won't let do a search (??) so I have to start a new thread.

I stupidly plugged in our toaster oven to the outside receptacle, not thinking about the fact our electric heater was still set to 'on' as well. As soon as the temperature dropped and the heater kicked on, the GFCI did it's job and shut down all the circuits on the line. We tried resetting the breakers, checked for a blown fuse, etc., but nothing. The outside GFCI, of course, will not reset either. Any suggestions other than waiting until we get home to call the repairman?

Jan
__________________

CADreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 08:36 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Donna D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 6,819
Did you try resetting the one below the kitchen counter too? Under the rear dinette, there's a gray box suspended from the seats (on mine) driver's side, there are two breakers there too. If you have those, did you reset those as well?
__________________

__________________
Donna D.
Ten Forward
2014 Escape 5.0TA
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 08:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Felton, California
Trailer: Escape 19', 2014
Posts: 770
THANK YOU DONNA!!!!!!!!! We found the 15 amp switches under the seat next to the bathroom (who would have thought there were hidden breakers?!?), flipped them to off and then on, pushed in the GFCI button and we have power!!! We owe you beer (or two) at the Fall NOG ... and a bottle of wine!
J&J
__________________

Jan

We do not remember days, we remember moments.
- Cesare Pavese
CADreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 08:53 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Donna D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 6,819
You're more than welcome. I won't tell you how I know about those breakers
__________________
Donna D.
Ten Forward
2014 Escape 5.0TA
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 08:57 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Felton, California
Trailer: Escape 19', 2014
Posts: 770
And I'm not asking ��
__________________

Jan

We do not remember days, we remember moments.
- Cesare Pavese
CADreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 09:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jim Bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 11,930
Glad it all worked out, and that Donna 'somehow' knew how to solve the mystery.

In case this happens to someone one, you should realize that when you overload a circuit like that, the GFI will not have any effect, it is just there for a ground fault interruption. In this case only the breaker should trip, as it did.
__________________
2017 Escape 5.0 TA
2015 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5L EcoBoost
2009 Escape 19 (previous)
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 10:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Van., British Columbia
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19
Posts: 3,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by CADreamin View Post
THANK YOU DONNA!!!!!!!!! We found the 15 amp switches under the seat next to the bathroom (who would have thought there were hidden breakers?!?), flipped them to off and then on, pushed in the GFCI button and we have power!!! We owe you beer (or two) at the Fall NOG ... and a bottle of wine!
J&J
Say what? Switches under the seat next to the bathroom, hidden breakers

My 19 is a 2014 also and I'm pretty sure that I don't have hidden breakers. I know the breaker for my exterior GRCI is in the panel.

Anyone have a photo of these hidden breakers?

Ron
Ron in BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 12:45 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 9,034
I assume that the grey box with the the "hidden" breakers is the sub-panel for all circuits which can be powered from the inverter. If you don't have a built-in inverter, all of the AC circuit breakers are in the main distribution panel.
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 01:40 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Van., British Columbia
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19
Posts: 3,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian B-P View Post
I assume that the grey box with the the "hidden" breakers is the sub-panel for all circuits which can be powered from the inverter. If you don't have a built-in inverter, all of the AC circuit breakers are in the main distribution panel.
I don't understand why those breakers would be tripped when the overload occurred while on shore power. I'd expect the breaker in the panel to trip. Wouldn't those breakers for the inverter be isolated by the transfer switch from the shore power circuit?

Who knows? ETI wiring is a mystery to me sometimes.

Ron
Ron in BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 02:14 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 9,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron in BC View Post
I don't understand why those breakers would be tripped when the overload occurred while on shore power. I'd expect the breaker in the panel to trip. Wouldn't those breakers for the inverter be isolated by the transfer switch from the shore power circuit?
I assume that one of the circuits in the sub-panel tripped because that particular circuit had both of the guilty appliances on it. The power to that circuit goes through that individual circuit breaker regardless of the source of the power; the transfer switch just routes the currently selected source to the sub-panel.

There is one breaker in the main distribution panel which supplies all of circuits connected to the sub-panel (by supplying power to the input of the panel, through the transfer switch), when on shore power rather than the inverter. That one would trip if the combination of loads exceeded that one breaker's rating... but in this case Jan reset that breaker on the first unsuccessful attempt to get power back, so it must not have been the one which had tripped.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron in BC View Post
Who knows? ETI wiring is a mystery to me sometimes.
Although "hiding" the sub-panel is a little strange, the configuration of the transfer switch appears to be otherwise completely normal practice for RVs with an alternate AC power source (such as a generator).

I have a motorhome with a generator and a transfer switch. It doesn't split off only some circuits to a sub-panel, because the intention is to be able to operate anything (although not all at once) on generator power - even the converter/charger. It's not reasonable to run the air conditioner on an inverter, and nonsensical to try to run the converter on an inverter, and so the sub-panel is used.

The relationship of the sub-panel to the main panel is normal, too... although houses typically just have one panel, it isn't really unusual to have a sub-panel for an addition or a garage.
__________________

Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.