Starting Refer on AC - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2018, 06:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
gmchamplin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Haslet, Texas
Trailer: 2017 5.0 TA
Posts: 117
Starting Refer on AC

On the last two times I have started my Dometic DM-2663 refrigerator to prepare for a trip, it has not wanted to come up on AC.

With AC and DC both available but propane off, the behavior has been erratic. Sometimes it ends up on DC, sometimes it ends up trying propane, failing, and blinking the Check light.

On both outings, after turning on the propane it came up OK on AC.

I called Dometic Customer Service and confirmed that this is not normal and I should have the refrigerator checked. I intend to do that, but wondered if anyone else has seen a similar problem.
__________________

__________________
Gary & Peggy
2017 5.0 TA "Wandrin' Star"
2016 GMC Canyon Duramax
gmchamplin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 05:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ,, Oklahoma
Trailer: 17
Posts: 809
There is a simple reset option I forget what button on the panel, but its an easy try. Anyone remember it for the op?
__________________

gocamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 09:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tdf-texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Baytown, Texas
Trailer: 2017 21' Escape - since 1/9/2017
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by gocamp View Post
There is a simple reset option I forget what button on the panel, but its an easy try. Anyone remember it for the op?
From the Dometic Diagnostic Service Manual:

"press the main power ON/OFF button (1) to the OFF then ON position. Systems with the new lower control board are a three (3) try system on gas. On the initial refrigerator start-up on gas (120 volts AC is not available), it may take longer than 45 seconds to allow air to be purged from the gas line. If the refrigerator has not been used for a long time or the LP tanks have just been refilled, air may be trapped in the supply lines. To purge the air from the lines may require resetting the main power ON/OFF button (1) three or four times."


but it does sound like you need a replacement control board.
__________________
If It Isn’t Perfect, It Isn’t Finished
tdf-texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2018, 09:34 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SLO County CA, California
Trailer: 2014 21
Posts: 3,326
We dont use AC much, however I do remember having the same issue described here several times when the trailer was new. I was trying to manually switch from propane to elecrric and it wasn't working easily. Now if I am on propane and want to go electric I just plug in the AC cord and with the fridge set to Auto it does automatically switch to AC. It just takes its time(not much) to get there.
__________________
"We gotta get as far away as we can!"
- Russell Casse, Independence Day
Rossue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Escape Trailer Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.