5.0TA pin box - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-05-2020, 09:23 PM   #1

Trailer: Na
5.0TA pin box

I’m a newbie and I’ve been lurking as well as educating myself... I originally posted a question before doing my forum homework - I appreciate you all entertaining my questions without throwing me under the bus 😉.

With COVID19 I’ve had lots of time to research this topic... having read a lot of threads (days and days) but couldn’t find anything specific to the adjustment details for the pin box. It obviously has both vertical as well as forward/aft axis travel. My question is what is the range in both axis? Full disclosure, I’m an engineer and don’t want to simply leave the details to trademasters and ETI... I enjoy being apart of the process and doing the work myself too!
Wabirkland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 10:20 PM   #2

Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wabirkland View Post
It obviously has both vertical as well as forward/aft axis travel. My question is what is the range in both axis?
It actually only adjusts vertically (bolts are used in all the holes per side in each horizontal row), and has only two positions. The rows of holes are 2.5" apart, so that's the range of adjustment. It is a Lippert model 1716, and there is a Lippert pin box measurement guide which shows the dimensions.
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2020, 11:33 PM   #3

I’m not sure how that’s possible considering all of the photos that indicate otherwise - where the pin box is clearly in varying positions. If I’m wrong, why the different positions of the pin box in all of the photos... am I missing something?
Old 04-06-2020, 12:16 AM   #4

Trailer: 2019 5.0 TA
Quote: