Battery disconnect in storage - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > General Escape
Click Here to Login

Old 08-22-2017, 07:13 PM   #1

Trailer: 2017 Escape 19
Battery disconnect in storage

Picked up 2017 19 ft in July. Very happy with trailer. Thought I could store the trailer with the battery disconnect in the off position and the 150 watt solar panel on the roof would keep the battery topped off. Went by today to check on trailer and meter for battery read 1/3 charged and voltage read 11.6 volts. Hope I have not damaged the battery. Will the panel charge with the battery disconnect in the off position? I am a newbie so any advice is appreciated. Thanks,
mquirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 07:29 PM   #2

Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mquirk View Post
Picked up 2017 19 ft in July. Very happy with trailer. Thought I could store the trailer with the battery disconnect in the off position and the 150 watt solar panel on the roof would keep the battery topped off. Went by today to check on trailer and meter for battery read 1/3 charged and voltage read 11.6 volts. Hope I have not damaged the battery. Will the panel charge with the battery disconnect in the off position? I am a newbie so any advice is appreciated. Thanks,
I would have thought that the solar charging would not be disconnected. I installed my own solar, and know that the charge is not affected by the disconnect switch. That said, if you store the trailer outside with solar installed, I would not worry a lot about the small amount of drain that might happen when stored and leave the disconnect on.
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 07:48 PM   #3