I guess I'm spoiled - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-12-2023, 04:14 PM   #1

Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
I guess I'm spoiled

Although I have been towing for over 30 years, the last ten being the Escape 19, I have never towed with an SUV until today. After installing the Prodigy P3 brake controller in my son's 2021 Ford Explorer, we went for a little test ride. The Explorer did well, and I've got the Prodigy about dialed in. So the big question is do we need sway control on this rig? I didn't really notice any sway...just a little jiggle, and bounce I guess, but I know I'm spoiled. It seems to sit level.

I'm also wondering if I might do better with softer tires. We were running about 46psi on the E19. No, I don't know what my hitch weight is. Propane, and two 6v batteries up front. Waste tanks were empty. Water about 1/2.

Just not sure what to expect.

We just got back from about 3500 miles of towing with the 2023 Ford F150 Powerboost.

Glenn
Attached Thumbnails
Explorer with Escape.jpg  
SeldomSeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2023, 04:21 PM   #2

Trailer: SOLD - 2022 Escape 21NE
Once you've towed with a Powerboost, everything else is just "almost as good".

When Ford releases an Explorer with the 3.5 twin-turbo + Powerboost option (including the 7.2kW inverter) I might consider trading in my F-150.

*MAYBE*

heck yeah, I'm spoiled ;-}
Tosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2023, 04:27 PM   #3

Trailer: 2012 E19
My 19 tows straight and steady behind my Lexus GX470 suv without sway control. Plenty of hitch weight is key, and mine is a tad over 500 lb.
Old 06-12-2023, 04:47 PM   #4

Trailer: 2022 E19
Measure a bit..........