Sanity check my 5.0 hitchup checklist? - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-31-2023, 11:09 PM   #1

Trailer: ‘Tranquility Base’. 2023 5.0.
Sanity check my 5.0 hitchup checklist?

RV newbie here. Finally getting our 5.0 in October! Yipee.

I’m doing checklists for everything, one of which is hitching up to our 5.0. Watched a couple of videos on how to do it.

We’ll have the Anderson hitch.

Here’s my checklist. Does this look ok, have I missed anything?

1. Drop tailgate
2. Check Anderson hitch secure in bed
3. Back up truck under kingpin
4. Turn off truck
5. Unlock slide on king pin
6. Lower 5.0 onto truck hitch ball.
7. Close lock on king pin. Turn clockwise to lock
8. Connect breakaway cable to truck bed
9. Connect safety chains (backwards?)
10. Hookup 7pin trailer connector.

Tug test

1. Trailer Wheels still chocked
2. Raise rear landing gear
3. Raise front landing gear half inch
4. Turn on truck
5. Engage trailer brakes
6. Attempt pull forward in truck

Assuming test ok

1. Close tailgate
2. Raise front landing gear
3. Drive off levels
4. Remove chocks/levels
5. Check trailer brake/indicator lights
6. Final walk around check
BritCanuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2023, 12:24 AM   #2

Trailer: 5.0
You might want to raise your rear landing gear sooner in the equation I’ve heard of people having it down, somehow raising the front and tweaking the rear landing gear as long as you keep your wheels, chauked you should be fine
Grasshog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2023, 12:46 AM   #3
Site Team

Trailer: 2023 5.0 TA
I second Grasshog’s suggestion of closing the tailgate sooner.