Hello - Interest in an E19 - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Community > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-03-2024, 01:08 PM   #1

Trailer: 2024 Escape 19 F1 (ordered)
Hello - Interest in an E19

Hello - New to the forum and to Escape, but not new to fiberglass hulled "egg" style campers.

I’ve been camping for 20+ years and previously owned an excellent Casita 17" Spirit Deluxe purchased new in 2013. I sold it in March of 2023 for a new (2023) stick built Winnebago Micro Minnie. What a mistake that was. I was seduced by the larger size, upgraded appliances (mainly a microwave and 12V compressor fridge), and the perceived extra comfort and space that the WB offered over the Casita. All this “goodness” came at a price.

It only took about a week to realize the quality level was WAY below what I was accustomed to in the Casita. The interior is put together with paneling and held in place by staples. The plumbing is a complete joke. All the campers from Elkhart, Indiana - Thor/Forest River/Winnebago etc. - use PEX for their longer runs of plumbing – which is great. What is not so good is that when close to a pump/faucet/shower or appliance connection that has vinyl, the correct union from PEX to vinyl is never used. Typically, the vinyl is simply placed over a PEX fitting and secured with a PEX cinch clam. These leak - some immediately and some over time. PEX fittings are simply not spec’d to be used with ANY size/type of vinyl.