Lithium battery brands - opinions? - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Escape Systems | Water, Waste, Charging & Propane
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-24-2023, 08:47 AM   #1

Trailer: 2012 Escape 17B
Lithium battery brands - opinions?

Hey all, I’m looking to upgrade our 2012 17B to lithium. I’m a newbie to this - learning as I go - and figured I’d reach out to you pros for advice as to battery selection.

I’m working with Jack at AM Solar and he’s a gem - but he’s recommending we go with LifeBlue batteries, which are super $$$. I was looking at LITime and PowerQueen - significantly cheaper (and LITime has batteries that were returned because of incorrect orders that are significantly discounted - 4 year warranty instead of 5). I know you often get what you pay for, but if Renogy and LifeBlue approach double the price - is it worth it? What think all of you?

Also - we boondock off grid for two weeks at a time (shoulder seasons - usually northern Ontario) and have two Dometic coolers we use on DC - they use about 550Ah. I just installed extra solar - we now have 300W worth of panels up top. What kind of battery capacity would you all suggest?

TIA!
Elizabeth
medora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2023, 09:31 AM   #2

Trailer: 2022 5.0 TA
If your batteries will be in the trailer and not exposed to freezing temperatures when charging, I’d go with litime batteries, you can get them in capacities up to 460ah. I have a 300ah battery from them and I’ve been using it for over a year and it’s worked great. My battery is mounted inside.

If you need protection from cold temperatures an SOK battery should be good. More expensive than litime, but worth it if it might be subjected to charging in freezing temperatures.