Cannot select AC on refridgerator? - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2023, 11:50 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sequim, Washington
Trailer: 2018 5.0TA towed with a 2017 GMC Canyon V6
Posts: 147
Cannot select AC on refridgerator?

Hi,


Today I found out that I cannot select AC on the refrigerator on our 2017 5.0TA. I can select DC (which seems to work fine) or propane but not AC. Currently, it is parked next to our house and I have run the 30A pigtail to a 20A circuit via an adapter. The microwave works fine so I assume it's not a current limitation. ThAnks for any help.
jkordzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 12:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Vermilye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oswego, New York
Trailer: 2017 Escape 21C, 2018 Ford F150
Posts: 5,406
Check that the 120V AC plug hasn't fallen out...
__________________
Jon Vermilye My Travel Blog
Travel and Photo Web Page ... My Collection of RV Blogs 2018 F150 3.5EB, 2017 21
Vermilye is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 12:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sequim, Washington
Trailer: 2018 5.0TA towed with a 2017 GMC Canyon V6
Posts: 147
Well, I rechecked all the AC circuits and they work fine. Then I reset the only GFCI I know of - on the outside, went back in and fiddled with the AC-DC-gas buttons again and after turning it off and hitting Auto a few times, it went to AC. So I'm not really sure what the issue was.
jkordzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 02:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
escape artist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Thomas not BVI., Ontario
Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0TA / 2016 Ram Eco Diesel 4X4
Posts: 8,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkordzi View Post
Well, I rechecked all the AC circuits and they work fine. Then I reset the only GFCI I know of - on the outside, went back in and fiddled with the AC-DC-gas buttons again and after turning it off and hitting Auto a few times, it went to AC. So I'm not really sure what the issue was.
Hi: jkordzi... Maybe you were using the wrong finger!!! Alf
escape artist N.S. of Lake Erie
__________________
Quote Bugs Bunny..."Don't take life too seriously, none of us get out of it ALIVE"!!!
'16 Ram Eco D. 4X4 Laramie Longhorn CC & '14 Escape 5.0TA
St.Thomas (Not the Virgin Islands) Ontario
escape artist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 03:22 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Centex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: East of Austin, Texas
Trailer: 2021 Escape 5.0 / 2022 F150 SuperCab
Posts: 3,029
I've found my fridge is Very Recalcitrant to enter AC mode when a propane tank valve is open / there's pressure in the propane system.

Close the tank valves and burn off the pressure with the stove, it's happy to go to AC mode promptly.

YMMV.
__________________
Alan E.
2021 Escape 5.0 / 2022 F150 Lariat SuperCab 6.5' box / Centex's 2021 5.0 Modifications
Centex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 03:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sequim, Washington
Trailer: 2018 5.0TA towed with a 2017 GMC Canyon V6
Posts: 147
Thanks. Chalk it up to another quirky thing with these trailers.
jkordzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 05:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
TTMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Venice, Florida
Trailer: 2020 Escape 19
Posts: 1,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Centex View Post
I've found my fridge is Very Recalcitrant to enter AC mode when a propane tank valve is open / there's pressure in the propane system.

Close the tank valves and burn off the pressure with the stove, it's happy to go to AC mode promptly.
That really should have no impact on it. I think that if you experienced it, it was random correlation.
TTMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 06:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: n/a, Texas
Trailer: Escape
Posts: 742
Jkordzi, what happens when you turn the fridge on with it plugged into AC with the gas on and auto mode selected? Does the AC light go on briefly? Then does it switch to DC or propane?
Viajante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 06:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sequim, Washington
Trailer: 2018 5.0TA towed with a 2017 GMC Canyon V6
Posts: 147
Well, initially, with the gas on I could not get it to go to AC even briefly using the AC/DC buttons or the auto button. After tripping and resetting the outside 120 volt outlet (which was working), and fiddling with the auto and AC/DC buttons again, it decided to come on.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Viajante View Post
Jkordzi, what happens when you turn the fridge on with it plugged into AC with the gas on and auto mode selected? Does the AC light go on briefly? Then does it switch to DC or propane?
jkordzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 08:39 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: n/a, Texas
Trailer: Escape
Posts: 742
Jkordzi, you are right, it is puzzling. The fact that it goes directly to gas indicates that AC isn’t detected or is not getting to the board.
Viajante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 11:21 PM   #11
Site Team
 
John in Santa Cruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mid Left Coast, California
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21
Posts: 5,230
I suspect the fridge outlet is slaved to the GFCI outlet, same as the kitchen outlet.
John in Santa Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 11:33 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Centex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: East of Austin, Texas
Trailer: 2021 Escape 5.0 / 2022 F150 SuperCab
Posts: 3,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by John in Santa Cruz View Post
I suspect the fridge outlet is slaved to the GFCI outlet, same as the kitchen outlet.
FWIW the fridge AC outlet was not slaved to the GFCI on my August 2021 build 5.0.

The fridge was on the same 15A AC breaker as the WFCO Converter (and 'only' those two items on that breaker in slot #2, with ETI's hand-written label being "Converter").

The 15A AC breaker in slot #3 was labeled "Fridge" by ETI, but in fact the fridge outlet was not wired to that breaker.

YMMV, ETI seems to have been very inconsistent in this regard over time (and / or perhaps among different wiring 'crews').

Yes, my circuits have now been re-arranged in the breaker panel with proper descriptive labels affixed to aid in troubleshooting.
__________________
Alan E.
2021 Escape 5.0 / 2022 F150 Lariat SuperCab 6.5' box / Centex's 2021 5.0 Modifications
Centex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2023, 11:54 PM   #13
Site Team
 
John in Santa Cruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mid Left Coast, California
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21
Posts: 5,230
oh you know what, I think my 2014 was like that too, the WFCO converter and fridge were on the same breaker with a funky splice in the breaker box. when I installed my compressor fridge, I moved the (now unused) fridge outlet to its own breaker.
John in Santa Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2023, 09:51 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
CharlesinGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: 50 miles S of Atlanta, Georgia
Trailer: 2008 BigfootRV 25B21RB
Posts: 303
It is somewhat common for RV manufacturers to put the converter and the fridge on the same breaker, not real sure why, its just convenient for them. Winnebago does this and uses a ferrule to join the two wire ends so they do not double tap the breaker.

Charles
__________________
'03 Ram 2500 CTD, 5.9HO PacBrake six speed std cab long bed Leer top and 2008 Bigfoot 25B21RB.. Previously, 2008 Thor Freedom Spirit 180, SOLD! 2007 Winnebago View 23H Motorhome, SOLD!
CharlesinGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2023, 10:59 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Suisun City, California
Trailer: 5.0
Posts: 125
There is a guy on YouTube. His channel is called “my RV works.”He is an RV tech and he does several refrigerator videos just in case you haven’t looked on YouTube yet check him out.
Grasshog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2023, 08:01 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
TTMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Venice, Florida
Trailer: 2020 Escape 19
Posts: 1,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesinGA View Post
It is somewhat common for RV manufacturers to put the converter and the fridge on the same breaker, not real sure why, its just convenient for them. Winnebago does this and uses a ferrule to join the two wire ends so they do not double tap the breaker.
The converter wire comes with a pigtail on it from WFCO.
TTMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2023, 12:59 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 2021 5.0TA
Posts: 98
Iíve found with our 2021 3-way it can be reluctant to switch modes if itís not in auto. In auto it always picks up AC over gas.

The day I wanted DC as a battery test it took some fiddling to get it to switch.
sameo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refridgerator ac

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Escape Trailer Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2023 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.