Microwave outlet replacement - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2018, 10:47 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Slickheadhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Weare, New Hampshire
Trailer: 2015 Escape 17A
Posts: 434
Microwave outlet replacement

Would anyone know where to start looking to replace the microwave outlet in a 2015 17ft? It doesn't appear to be anything standard looking.

Thanks,
Emile
__________________

Slickheadhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 10:55 AM   #2
Site Team
 
rbryan4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas
Trailer: 2015 19 "Past Tents", 2018 F150 2.7L Ecoboost
Posts: 9,518
Hello Emile, long time no see!

Do you have a photo perhaps?
__________________

__________________
"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy an RV. And that is pretty close."
rbryan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 11:12 AM   #3
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia
Trailer: Escape#4, 2019 Escape21 DejaView pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 20,736
It maybe a 20 amp socket vs a 15? They look different....
__________________
Jim
"Never in doubt,..... often wrong!"
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 11:21 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
escape artist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Thomas not BVI., Ontario
Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0TA / 2016 Ram Eco Diesel 4X4
Posts: 6,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickheadhunter View Post
Would anyone know where to start looking to replace the microwave outlet in a 2015 17ft? It doesn't appear to be anything standard looking.

Thanks,
Emile
Hi: Slickheadhunter... All I know is that the microwave is required to be on a dedicated circuit!!! Alf
escape artist N.S. of Lake Erie
__________________
Quote Bugs Bunny..."Don't take life too seriously, none of us get out of it ALIVE"!!!
'16 Ram Eco D. 4X4 Laramie Longhorn CC & '14 Escape 5.0TA
St.Thomas (Not the Virgin Islands) Ontario
escape artist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 11:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Eggscape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Kelowna, British Columbia
Trailer: 2018 Escape 19
Posts: 1,419
It should be a standard RV plug that has little white wings that turn out to grab the paneling. I can only assume that an RV dealer would have one.
__________________
So many modifications...so little time.

https://www.escapeforum.org/forums/f8...ape-12918.html
Eggscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 11:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Slickheadhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Weare, New Hampshire
Trailer: 2015 Escape 17A
Posts: 434
I managed to get the numbers off the existing outlet, looks like a 15A-125V legrand SC-85-R! It's a bizarre looking outlet.
I believe I found one on line.

Thanks for the help,
Emile
Slickheadhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 11:41 AM   #7
Site Team
 
rbryan4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas
Trailer: 2015 19 "Past Tents", 2018 F150 2.7L Ecoboost
Posts: 9,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickheadhunter View Post
I managed to get the numbers off the existing outlet, looks like a 15A-125V legrand SC-85-R! It's a bizarre looking outlet.
I believe I found one on line.

Thanks for the help,
Emile
Ah, it's an SCD outlet. Escape started using them some time ago. The wire passes through it and is "tapped" by the terminals. You're supposed to use a special and rather pricey tool to attach these, but you don't have to. You can use a screwdriver to push the wires into the contacts, once the insulation is trimmed back. I'm not a fan of SCDs, but I'll spare you that debate. It's been discussed here before, several times.

Just so you know, you can just wire in a conventional outlet if you like.
__________________
"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy an RV. And that is pretty close."
rbryan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 11:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Slickheadhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Weare, New Hampshire
Trailer: 2015 Escape 17A
Posts: 434
How would I secure a regular outlet? This foolish thing holds on to the particle board.
Slickheadhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 11:48 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Slickheadhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Weare, New Hampshire
Trailer: 2015 Escape 17A
Posts: 434
How've you been Rob?
Slickheadhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 11:52 AM   #10
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia
Trailer: Escape#4, 2019 Escape21 DejaView pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 20,736
You can always add a piece of paneling inside the microwave cabinet area to make it thicker and better to secure to...
__________________
Jim
"Never in doubt,..... often wrong!"
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 12:07 PM   #11
Site Team
 
rbryan4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas
Trailer: 2015 19 "Past Tents", 2018 F150 2.7L Ecoboost
Posts: 9,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickheadhunter View Post
How've you been Rob?
Been good, just building a house which has been nerve wracking. Need to go camp!
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpaharley2008 View Post
You can always add a piece of paneling inside the microwave cabinet area to make it thicker and better to secure to...
Yep, some sort of reinforcement would work.
__________________
"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy an RV. And that is pretty close."
rbryan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 01:38 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Slickheadhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Weare, New Hampshire
Trailer: 2015 Escape 17A
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbryan4 View Post
Been good, just building a house which has been nerve wracking. Need to go camp.
It will be over before you know it, enjoy your home!
Slickheadhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 01:53 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
sumac.rhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Troy, Idaho
Trailer: August 2017 17b
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by escape artist View Post
... All I know is that the microwave is required to be on a dedicated circuit!!! Alf
escape artist N.S. of Lake Erie
Not a completely unrelated question....?
Some one out there in Fellow-Escapeland must know: Why is my microwave outlet labeled: "For Microwave Only"

(I opted not to get the built-in microwave [2017 17B])
sumac.rhus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 02:05 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 12,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickheadhunter View Post
How would I secure a regular outlet? This foolish thing holds on to the particle board.
If you go to your favourite electrical supply store (any building center should do) and ask about "old work boxes" you should be shown at least a couple of choices. These boxes are designed to attach to the wall panel in cases other than new construction, where studs are not readily accessible for mounting. They have mounting ears or various clamp arrangements, and come in steel, plastic, and possibly aluminum.

Once you have a suitable box, you can use a normal receptacle.
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 02:12 PM   #15
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia
Trailer: Escape#4, 2019 Escape21 DejaView pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 20,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumac.rhus View Post
Not a completely unrelated question....?
Some one out there in Fellow-Escapeland must know: Why is my microwave outlet labeled: "For Microwave Only"

(I opted not to get the built-in microwave [2017 17B])
For code/regulation/legal purposes only.......I use my outlet to keep charge to my flashlight
__________________
Jim
"Never in doubt,..... often wrong!"
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 02:12 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
tdf-texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Baytown, Texas
Trailer: 2017 21' Escape - since 1/9/2017
Posts: 1,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumac.rhus View Post
Not a completely unrelated question....?
Some one out there in Fellow-Escapeland must know: Why is my microwave outlet labeled: "For Microwave Only"

(I opted not to get the built-in microwave [2017 17B])
Due to the current a microwave can pull, it is a requirement that it be on a dedicated electrical circuit to prevent overloading the circuit by adding other loads.

If other devices were allowed on the circuit, it would violate NEC 210.23(A)(2) which says that total loads shall not exceed 50 percent of the branch circuit rating. An exception is allowed when the circuit is dedicated.

A 1200 watt microwave is already 66% of a 15 amp (1800 watt) branch circuit.

https://www.iccsafe.org/forum/electr...cated-circuit/
__________________
If It Isnít Perfect, It Isnít Finished
tdf-texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 02:20 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
sumac.rhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Troy, Idaho
Trailer: August 2017 17b
Posts: 172
Thanks!
sumac.rhus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 02:27 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
tdf-texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Baytown, Texas
Trailer: 2017 21' Escape - since 1/9/2017
Posts: 1,568
By the way, if you are not using a microwave - then none of this applies and the outlet can be used just like any other outlet.
__________________
If It Isnít Perfect, It Isnít Finished
tdf-texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 06:45 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Slickheadhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Weare, New Hampshire
Trailer: 2015 Escape 17A
Posts: 434
Ok now I'm really confused!
There's no power to that outlet at all, and from what I can tell none of the fuses are bad. The fuse panel does not have the micro wave labeled, and I'm lost as to why. I suck at electrical!
Slickheadhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 07:07 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 12,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickheadhunter View Post
There's no power to that outlet at all, and from what I can tell none of the fuses are bad. The fuse panel does not have the micro wave labeled, and I'm lost as to why.
The fuses in the WFCO Power Center are for 12 volt DC power (from the battery or converter). The microwave and other outlets are on 120 V AC power; each circuit has a circuit breaker, also in the WFCO Power Center. The microwave circuit should be noted on the circuit breaker panel label.

What do your circuit breaker labels say?
__________________

Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Escape Trailer Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×