Portable Solar Panel - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-22-2023, 03:49 PM   #1

Trailer: 2024 21C ---------- 2023 Toyota Tundra Platinum
Portable Solar Panel

I am getting a new (2024) 21C with a solar setup - 2 -200 watt panels and 4 lithium batteries. I did purchase the Solar Port wired to Charge Controller. I am a novice and don't know anything about solar power. I want to purchase a 3rd panel (portable) to plug into the solar port wired to the charge controller. The only solid information Escape could provide is that the panel needs to be 24v to be compatible with the system I am getting in the trailer.

Can anyone recommend a portable panel (hopefully at least 100 watt) that will plug into the solar port and work with the system coming in the Escape? I tried reading up on the subject to self educate myself, but it seemed the more I read the more I needed to know, and I don't have any confidence in getting the right equipment.

Last summer Samuel told me that Escape was going to be selling a 100 watt panel that plugged into the trailer 7-pin light wiring harness, but recent communication with him revealed that there were problems with the setup and they are no longer offering it.

If anyone knows a panel (and any other equipment/adapters) I will need, I would greatly appreciate it!
scottarue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2023, 06:35 PM   #2
Site Team

Trailer: 2014 Escape 21
I'd probably get this panel, https://www.renogy.com/200-watt-12-v...olar-suitcase/ and remove the solar controller, wire the panels to a SAE plug on 20 or 30 feet of AWG12 or 10 wire, making sure to get the polarity correct (I think Zamp plugs are the reverse of normal SAE plugs). Check the polarity of the zamp port when the sun is shining on the factory panels.