Lagun Table Mount Install - Thoughts - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Modifications and Alterations
Click Here to Login

Old 01-22-2018, 09:20 PM   #1

Trailer: 2017 Escape 21; previously a 2012 Escape 19
Lagun Table Mount Install - Thoughts

This month I installed a Lagun table mount in our new (Nov 17) Escape 21 with the U-shaped dinette. I’m a retired structural engineer so I looked at this install primarily with stability and strength in mind. There are certainly many ways to successfully install the table support. Here are some thoughts and a description of how I went about it:

The original construction is basically just a wood frame covered with very thin plywood. It’s conservative to assume the plywood has no real strength and to design the install such that all load from the table (vertical weight and resultant moment, think lever arm) transfers directly to the wood frame structure, which is well designed in the U dinette benches.

I first filled the space within the wood frame with 3/4in plywood then installed a wood plate over this plywood attached directly to the framing. In my case, I used some 3/8” oak I had left over from another project.

Then I installed two steel brackets between the new vertical “wall” of this back bench and the floor of the trailer. I used these:

https://www.wwhardware.com/a-m-hardw...am-black-16252

They are 8in x 12in shelf support brackets made of 1/8in steel by these folks:

High Quality Support Brackets for Countertops, Islands, Workstations, Shelves & Vanities | A&M Hardware

They are much stronger than necessary but, more importantly, they are very stiff. Cheap too, less than $20/pair plus shipping.