Truck Camper? - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-29-2023, 12:45 PM   #1

Trailer: None yet
Truck Camper?

Hello outdoor enthusiasts! After spending more than sixty years living on Long Island New York I am ready to see more of this fantastic country. My original idea was to get a truck camper to start off with and possibly switching to the Escape 5.0 in a few years.
My thought is that the truck camper would allow me to get to much more remote places than anything I could tow. After thinking about it a little, maybe I don't need to be as remote as I originally thought. I more so want to be away from the crowded areas that I've spent a lifetime surviving in. The RV parks that I've seen seem a bit too closely spaced for me.
So as a complete novice my question is did you ever have a truck camper and are there things you miss? Or do you ever look at where truck campers can go and admire the ability of them to get to more remote locations.
I totally realize that there are trade offs and personal choices that play a big part in this.
Any suggestions will be appreciated.
Thank you
Paul J Brendel
Huntington, NY
PJBrendel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2023, 01:13 PM   #2
Site Team

Trailer: 2023 Escape 5.0TA
Welcome Paul. I believe there are some veteran truck camper owners on this forum. Hopefully they can answer your questions. The only reason I am posting is that the truck camper configuration appears to be enjoying a resurgence of sorts. I witnessed this in dispersed camping environments over the past year where it appears truck campers are the new adventure vans.

As a 5.0 owner, I can tell you that after a year of ownership and several thousand miles of traveling, it is worth every penny and will deliver an elevated camping experience.
SageRpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2023, 01:25 PM   #3