Damaged fiberglass when replacing stove vent - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-19-2023, 03:06 PM   #1

Trailer: 2014 Escape 21 Tow: 2024 Toyota Tundra
Damaged fiberglass when replacing stove vent

I am in the process of replacing the stove vent because the old one had deteriorated in the sun. In the process of removing the adhesive around the vent I damaged the fiberglass (see photo). I have some questions:

1. How do I fix the damage? I have no experience working with fiberglass, but I knew I'd get some sooner or later.

2. Does all of the old sealant need to come off? That is, will new sealant stick to the old sealant?

3. If all of the old sealant should come off, is there a solvent that will help? Alcohol doesn't seem to do much.

4. Any other recommendations for doing this?

Thanks all.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1325.jpg  
Mike Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2023, 03:17 PM   #2
Site Team

Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0 TA
Don't ever dig at the gelcoat and never use metal scrapping tools. Don't know if it will work for your application, but I captured this from over on the CasitaForum as a recommended product.
Attached Thumbnails
SiliconeRemover_CasitaForum.jpg  
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2023, 03:54 PM   #3

Trailer: 2014 Escape 19, sold; 2019 Escape 21, Sept. 2019
Well that's annoying.

1. It's an easy repair because of it's size and location. More forgiving and less visible than if it was in the middle of an area by itself. See if you can find a boat yard that will sell/give you a teaspoon of white gelcoat and 3 drops of MEK. If so, I'll walk you through it.