Fusebox fan is cycling on and off - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-30-2024, 10:44 AM   #1

Trailer: 2022 Escape 21NE
Fusebox fan is cycling on and off

Hi all, I'm very new to the RV world and have only done one trip which unfortunately ended up with my fridge failing (due to rough FSR), but that is now fixed and documented in this thread.

Since then (last 2+ weeks) I've been running the fridge and testing the thermostat on various settings to record the resultant temperature in the fridge and freezer to get a sense of the optimum setting. I was running off the battery (lithium + solar) which was fine until the other day when I found no power at all! (I had not been monitoring the battery level ... as I said, I'm a noob).

So I plugged into shore power. EMS showed 4 (previous error, low battery) and the Go Power panel showed 13%. So why did the battery drain? I was using power for the following:

1. Norcold fridge (2A draw, average)
2. Heating pads on
3. Inverter on (to run Inkbird for monitoring fridge temp)
4. One interior light on

So first, yes I know the heating pads shouldn't have been on. They're for extreme cold and not a winterisation technique, as I've since learned. But my understanding is that they are thermostatically controlled, so they shouldn't have caused the battery drain.

My guess is it was a combination of a change to very cloudy/rainy weather here plus the inverter draw, which caused the problem? Sound right? I assume most people only turn on their inverter for short periods of time when boondocking.