Partial Electrical Failure - Escape Trailer Owners Community
RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2021, 08:19 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
kstock11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Asheville, North Carolina
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19
Posts: 831
Partial Electrical Failure

Iím having an electrical challenge. Iím hooked up to campground power and all started ok. I have the Progressive ems installed at the factory in my 2014 Escape 19. While using my microwave, the power cut off. The converter is still charging my batteries and the one outlet below the table is ok. All other outlets are dead. I have 12volt power to fridge, but not 110 power to it. Iíve checked all fuses as well as reset my outside gfi. The ems shows E0 which is normal. Any ideas?
__________________

kstock11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 08:41 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
rubicon327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Burlington Twp., New Jersey
Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Posts: 4,949
Do you have the option that includes inverter with power to all outlets?
__________________

__________________
Mods to Rubicon: https://www.escapeforum.org/forums/f...tml#post249508
ďOne way to get the most out of life is to look upon it as an adventure.Ē― W.F.
rubicon327 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 09:10 AM   #3
Site Team
 
Donna D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 9,393
Did you reset the GFCI below the kitchen counter?
__________________
Donna D.
Ten Forward
2014 Escape 5.0TA
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 09:34 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
rubicon327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Burlington Twp., New Jersey
Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Posts: 4,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donna D. View Post
Did you reset the GFCI below the kitchen counter?
Donna: I wonder when they started adding a second GFI outlet below the counter. Our 2010 only has the exterior GFI that is wired upstream of some of the interior outlets for protection. I was leaning away from the GFI as cause because the power is dead to the microwave and fridge. These typically would not be wired on a GFI protected circuit.
__________________
Mods to Rubicon: https://www.escapeforum.org/forums/f...tml#post249508
ďOne way to get the most out of life is to look upon it as an adventure.Ē― W.F.
rubicon327 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 09:46 AM   #5
Site Team
 
Donna D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 9,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubicon327 View Post
Donna: I wonder when they started adding a second GFI outlet below the counter.
Don't know. The OP has a 2014 trailer and so do I. There's a GFCI below the kitchen counter in my trailer that's why I mentioned it.
__________________
Donna D.
Ten Forward
2014 Escape 5.0TA
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 09:47 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
kstock11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Asheville, North Carolina
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19
Posts: 831
Yes on inverter with all outlets wired to it.I do have the inverter with transfer switch to all outlets. I only have the gfi outside.
__________________
Kevin
Thanks to the interstate highway system, it is now possible to travel across the country from coast to coast without seeing anything - Charles Kuralt
kstock11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 09:49 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
kstock11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Asheville, North Carolina
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19
Posts: 831
I have an outlet to the left of the kitchen counter, but no gfi there. My unit was completed on January 2, 2014.
__________________
Kevin
Thanks to the interstate highway system, it is now possible to travel across the country from coast to coast without seeing anything - Charles Kuralt
kstock11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 10:13 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Vermilye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oswego, New York
Trailer: 2017 Escape 21C, 2018 Ford F150
Posts: 4,315
You might check the 30 amp breaker in the WFCO panel that feeds the inverter, however it is more likely that one of the 15 amp breakers in the sub panel has tripped. I'm not sure where the sub panel is located in a 19; in the 21 it is under the dinette seating.

If the breakers are good, look for a loose wire, particularly if you smelled cooking insulation...
__________________
Jon Vermilye My Travel Blog
Travel and Photo Web Page ... My Collection of RV Blogs 2018 F150 3.5EB, 2017 21
Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 10:17 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
tdf-texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Baytown, Texas
Trailer: 2017 21' Escape - improved version
Posts: 2,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstock11 View Post
Yes on inverter with all outlets wired to it.I do have the inverter with transfer switch to all outlets. I only have the gfi outside.
Ok, There is a small breaker box under your dinette that has two breakers in it. Escape wires the microwave, fridge, and some of the outlets all on one breaker - that would be the one that is tripped. Reset it and your power should be back.

I changed my trailer to have four breakers instead of two for this very reason. I was using the microwave at the same time my wife was using a hair blower - pop went the breaker.

ps. I know everyone is tired of hearing this - but NEC code says the microwave MUST be on a separate (dedicated) breaker. The microwave powered along with other devices is a violation of code.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Breaker box.jpg (196.0 KB, 44 views)
__________________
If It Isnít Perfect, It Isnít Finished
tdf-texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 11:16 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
rubicon327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Burlington Twp., New Jersey
Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Posts: 4,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstock11 View Post
Yes on inverter with all outlets wired to it.I do have the inverter with transfer switch to all outlets. I only have the gfi outside.
See posts 8 & 9 above. That's exactly where I was going by asking about the inverter. You need to find your subpanel with the two 15A breakers.
__________________
Mods to Rubicon: https://www.escapeforum.org/forums/f...tml#post249508
ďOne way to get the most out of life is to look upon it as an adventure.Ē― W.F.
rubicon327 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 11:42 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
kstock11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Asheville, North Carolina
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19
Posts: 831
Thanks - that did it. Thanks for the help.
__________________
Kevin
Thanks to the interstate highway system, it is now possible to travel across the country from coast to coast without seeing anything - Charles Kuralt
kstock11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 08:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19' and 2016 GMC Yukon SLT SUV.
Posts: 372
Send a message via AIM to Tonny LR
AC breaker box

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdf-texas View Post
Ok, There is a small breaker box under your dinette that has two breakers in it. Escape wires the microwave, fridge, and some of the outlets all on one breaker - that would be the one that is tripped. Reset it and your power should be back.

I changed my trailer to have four breakers instead of two for this very reason. I was using the microwave at the same time my wife was using a hair blower - pop went the breaker.

ps. I know everyone is tired of hearing this - but NEC code says the microwave MUST be on a separate (dedicated) breaker. The microwave powered along with other devices is a violation of code.
Hello tdf-texas,
I have the same problem that the breaker tripped when I used Microwave plus another AC outlet. I would like to wire the Microwave on a separate breaker. My breaker box looked like yours from ETI, but has a slot for 2 breakers. Do I need to buy a bigger breaker box to fit 3 or 4 breakers? If I convert 2 breakers to 4 and use microwave plus 2 or more AC outlets, would the electricity draw cause the 30 Amp cable plug into shore power to be overheated? please help .

Tonny LR
Tonny LR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 08:41 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 13,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonny LR View Post
If I convert 2 breakers to 4 and use microwave plus 2 or more AC outlets, would the electricity draw cause the 30 Amp cable plug into shore power to be overheated?
Changing the number of circuit breakers, and thus the number of circuits, doesn't by itself change the amount of electricity used. If you plug in and use more stuff at the same time, you can exceed the 30 amp rating of the shore power cable and the corresponding main breaker... but you can easily do that in the stock trailer without adding any circuits - just the microwave, the water heater (on AC power), and one other appliance can add up to more than 30 amps.

As long as you don't use more current than the 30 amp main breaker allows, overheating of the shore power cable is not a problem (although with a continuous 30 amps it could get warm, and should not be left coiled up).
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 08:47 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
rubicon327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Burlington Twp., New Jersey
Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Posts: 4,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonny LR View Post
I would like to wire the Microwave on a separate breaker. My breaker box looked like yours from ETI, but has a slot for 2 breakers. Do I need to buy a bigger breaker box to fit 3 or 4 breakers?
I donít want to speak for Tom but Iím sure he just used two tandem breakers in the stock box.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-BD...1515/100130719
__________________
Mods to Rubicon: https://www.escapeforum.org/forums/f...tml#post249508
ďOne way to get the most out of life is to look upon it as an adventure.Ē― W.F.
rubicon327 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 09:27 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19' and 2016 GMC Yukon SLT SUV.
Posts: 372
Send a message via AIM to Tonny LR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian B-P View Post
Changing the number of circuit breakers, and thus the number of circuits, doesn't by itself change the amount of electricity used. If you plug in and use more stuff at the same time, you can exceed the 30 amp rating of the shore power cable and the corresponding main breaker... but you can easily do that in the stock trailer without adding any circuits - just the microwave, the water heater (on AC power), and one other appliance can add up to more than 30 amps.

As long as you don't use more current than the 30 amp main breaker allows, overheating of the shore power cable is not a problem (although with a continuous 30 amps it could get warm, and should not be left coiled up).
Brian B_P,
Thanks for the info. My electrical knowledge is limited and ask elementary electrical questions. I will be mindful as to the amount of Amp draw of appliances used, if I install a third circuit breaker.
Tonny LR
Tonny LR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 09:35 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19' and 2016 GMC Yukon SLT SUV.
Posts: 372
Send a message via AIM to Tonny LR
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubicon327 View Post
I donít want to speak for Tom but Iím sure he just used two tandem breakers in the stock box.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-BD...1515/100130719
rubicon327,
Thanks for your response. I looked at Tom's breaker box again and it clearly showed 4 15 Amp circuit breakers in one slot. I was wondering how he fitted 4 breakers in one slot.

Tonny LR
Tonny LR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 10:15 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
tdf-texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Baytown, Texas
Trailer: 2017 21' Escape - improved version
Posts: 2,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubicon327 View Post
I don’t want to speak for Tom but I’m sure he just used two tandem breakers in the stock box.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-BD...1515/100130719
You are almost correct!

Since Canada doesn't follow the same electrical codes as NEC, the breaker box Escape installed in my trailer is a non-CTL box. (illegal in the US since 1965) That big Canadian maple leaf should have been a hint - I bought the ones you linked at first and had to take them back.

So I had to install two non-CTL 15 amp tandem breakers.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-BR...1515/100121768
__________________
If It Isnít Perfect, It Isnít Finished
tdf-texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 10:23 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
tdf-texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Baytown, Texas
Trailer: 2017 21' Escape - improved version
Posts: 2,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonny LR View Post
rubicon327,
Thanks for your response. I looked at Tom's breaker box again and it clearly showed 4 15 Amp circuit breakers in one slot. I was wondering how he fitted 4 breakers in one slot.

Tonny LR
Two tandem 15 amp breakers fit in the same slot space as the two 15 amp breakers you have now. Tandems gives you four breakers in the space of two.

Just make sure that the ones you buy are non-CTL. The CTL ones everyone uses in the US won't fit.

When you open the breaker box (with power off the trailer of course), you will probably find that the circuits have been pigtailed so all you have to do is remove the pigtails and separate the circuits onto the four breakers. That' what I found when I rewired my box.
__________________
If It Isnít Perfect, It Isnít Finished
tdf-texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2021, 09:22 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19' and 2016 GMC Yukon SLT SUV.
Posts: 372
Send a message via AIM to Tonny LR
Circuit breakers

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdf-texas View Post
Two tandem 15 amp breakers fit in the same slot space as the two 15 amp breakers you have now. Tandems gives you four breakers in the space of two.

Just make sure that the ones you buy are non-CTL. The CTL ones everyone uses in the US won't fit.

When you open the breaker box (with power off the trailer of course), you will probably find that the circuits have been pigtailed so all you have to do is remove the pigtails and separate the circuits onto the four breakers. That' what I found when I rewired my box.
Hello Tom,
Thank you for your electrical mod instructions. your info is very helpful. I followed your posting daily and thank you for your valuable contribution to this forum.
Tonny LR
Tonny LR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2021, 09:41 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
tdf-texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Baytown, Texas
Trailer: 2017 21' Escape - improved version
Posts: 2,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonny LR View Post
Hello Tom,
Thank you for your electrical mod instructions. your info is very helpful. I followed your posting daily and thank you for your valuable contribution to this forum.
Tonny LR
You're more than welcome! But I am just one of the contributors that make this forum a place for trailer owners to find information. There are a number of technical experts here - it's amazing the wealth of knowledge the group possesses.
__________________

__________________
If It Isnít Perfect, It Isnít Finished
tdf-texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Escape Trailer Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×